Start small if you’ve got to, but do something

dogoodIt’s been a quiet summer here in The Nothing Box. How long has it been since I posted, you ask? I had to have Corinne remind me how to log in. That’s bad.

Part of that has been sloth on my part. But part of it has been the fact that it’s just been a really crappy summer on a number of fronts and I didn’t want to sink into a series of bitchy rants. (Not that there’s anything wrong with a good prolonged, hilarious rant. Keep up the good work, Heather.)

So here’s the thing. I’m going to grab positivity by the scruff of the neck and drag it, kicking and screaming, back into our lives. And I’m gonna use this blog to do it.

To that end, this is the first in a series of posts I’m going to try and do weekly. (Yes, to those of you familiar with the history of my blog, this smacks of a Corinne challenge.) In this series I’m going to try to offer low-impact opportunities to make the world a better place.

I don’t have a million dollars laying around (though, it’s important to note that even a small gift to a fine institution like the College of Saint Benedict or Saint John’s University can make a real difference). And I don’t have a ton of spare time… Okay, let’s be honest. I do have a fair bit of “spare time.” But relaxing for a bit on the couch with a cocktail and some potato chips and absolutely zero brainwave activity (are you familiar with the name of this blog?) goes a long way toward keeping me sane.

I want to start making the world a little bit better and feeling better about myself. I just don’t want to dig into my grocery budget or miss The Voice in order to do it. (Stop judging me, dammit.)

Therefore, these Thursday (hopefully) posts will offer little steps that anyone can take. You can choose to cheer me on. You can choose to join me. You can choose to offer up a suggestion for next week’s post. Or you can choose to ignore me and go find something on the internet more suited to your particular idiom. (What’s Miley up to today?) Your call.

And so, without further adieu, let me encourage you to go out tomorrow and pick up some stuff to fill the wish list for the Star Studio at Children’s Hospital – as posted by Caring for Kayleen.

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 6.48.16 PMKayleen Larson was an amazing fighter. And her family maintained a heartbreakingly inspirational Facebook page as she struggled with leukemia. Ever since she lost that fight this spring though, the page has continued as a force for providing practical help to other kids and families going through similar struggles.

Right now, they’re collecting toys, games, crafts and similar items for Children’s Hospital. So here are your instructions: Like the Caring for Kayleen Facebook page right now. Read some of the history. Find the wish list (posted on Aug. 27), pick up an item and drop it off in one of the dedicated drop box sites (also listed on the page).

Congratulations! You did something nice! Enjoy the feeling. Then come back here next Thursday for another fix.

2 thoughts on “Start small if you’ve got to, but do something

Leave a comment